

Contact:

Lynne Bereza, AMM Communications Coordinator Telephone: (204) 856-2366 Cell: (204) 871-0517 Email: <u>bereza@amm.mb.ca</u> 1910 Saskatchewan Avenue W. Portage la Prairie, MB R1N 0P1

News Release

CITIES CAUCUS TALKS BUDGETS, CANNABIS

April 11, 2018 - The leaders of Manitoba's cities met in Brandon today during the Association of Manitoba Municipalities (AMM) Municipal Officials Seminar (MOS). Almost 700 municipal officials are gathered at the event which runs today and tomorrow at the Keystone Centre.

Items on the Cities Caucus agenda included the 2018 federal and provincial budgets and policing costs. But one of the biggest issues continues to be the upcoming cannabis legalization and regulation.

The AMM's position is that municipalities should be closely consulted throughout the process, tools and resources should be provided to help municipalities prepare prior to and following legalization, and a fair revenue-sharing model that respects municipal authority and recognizes rising policing costs needs to be developed.

AMM President Chris Goertzen says it's essential for cities to work together on issues like cannabis legalization. "There are many questions around this issue but what is certain are increased challenges and costs for municipalities," he explained. "We look forward to working with the Province to address both." Manitoba Municipal Relations staff will present an update on cannabis legalization to AMM delegates tomorrow at 11:50 am in MNP Hall, Keystone Centre.

Mayor Dennis Fenske, City of Thompson, is Chair of the AMM Cities Caucus. "Cities have common concerns and priorities, so coming together regularly is a valuable opportunity to discuss those. The cannabis legalization issue is a perfect example."

The AMM Cities Caucus was formed in 2013 and is modeled after the Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM) <u>Big City Mayors' Caucus</u>.

Members of the AMM Cities Caucus include:

- City of Brandon
- City of Dauphin
- The City of Flin Flon
- City of Morden
- City of Portage la Prairie
- City of Selkirk
- Oty of Steinbach
- City of Thompson
- City of Winkler
- City of Winnipeg