

Contact:

Lynne Bereza, AMM Communications Coordinator

Cell: (204) 871-0517
Fax: (204) 856-2370
Email: lbereza@amm.mb.ca
1910 Saskatchewan Avenue W.
Portage la Prairie, MB R1N 0P1

Telephone: (204) 856-2366

News Release

Resolution Roundup

November 25, 2014 - The first resolutions session of the Association of Manitoba Municipalities 16th Annual Convention concluded today with delegates carrying 20 resolutions. None were defeated and one, #6, was withdrawn.

Two resolutions highlighted at a news conference earlier in the day, #1 - Additional Funding to Assist with Amalgamation Cost, and #14 - Mosquito Buffer Zones, carried with 90% and 79% of the vote respectively.

The final resolutions session will take place tomorrow at 2:30 pm beginning with resolution #22.

President Doug Dobrowolski was acclaimed to serve another two-year term as President of the AMM. He has served as President since 2008.

Tomorrow's agenda kicks off at 9:00 am with the annual Ministerial Forum. The Premier and members of Cabinet will be in attendance to answer questions from the floor. The Forum will be followed by the Leader of the Official Opposition, Brian Pallister, and the Leader of the Manitoba Liberal Party, Rana Bokhari.

A total of 1,011 delegates are registered for the Annual Convention, which adjourns tomorrow afternoon.

-30-

A list of resolutions debated is available athttp://www.amm.mb.ca/download/resolutions/2014%20Convention%20Resolutions.pdf

All media are welcome to attend.

All sessions take place in Meeting Rooms 1-4, 1st Floor unless otherwise indicated.