

Contact:

Lynne Bereza, AMM Communications Coordinator

Telephone: (204) 856-2366 Cell: (204) 871-0517 Fax: (204) 856-2370

Email: lbereza@amm.mb.ca
1910 Saskatchewan Avenue W.
Portage la Prairie, MB R1N 0P1

News Release

Cities discuss common ground during AMM Convention

November 23, 2015 - The mayors of Manitoba's cities met in Brandon today during the AMM Annual Convention to establish priorities for the coming year.

According to the Chair of the AMM Cities Caucus, Steinbach Mayor Chris Goertzen, having an organized group that works within the auspices of the AMM makes sense. "Cities share similar issues and collectively we can all benefit from an organized forum to share our specific concerns and find ways to lobby for the things our cities need," he said.

Topics discussed by caucus members included the amount of PST municipalities pay each year, policing costs and services, mandatory accessibility plans currently being proposed by the Province, and the 2016 Provincial Election.

The final item on the agenda was to elect a new Chair for the Cities Caucus to replace Goertzen, who was appointed AMM President last July. Mayor Rick Chrest, City of Brandon stepped forward to fill the role for the coming year.

"I am really pleased to be taking the helm of the AMM Cities Caucus," said Chrest. "Our unique roles in municipal government are tremendously strengthened through our collective involvement in the AMM, which is one of the only municipal associations in Canada that represents all municipalities," he explained. At the same time, "we recognize there can be great benefit for communities that share common ground to join forces. That is what the Cities Caucus is about."

Members of the AMM Clties Caucus include:

- City of Brandon
- City of Dauphin
- The City of Flin Flon
- City of Morden
- City of Portage la Prairie
- · City of Selkirk
- · Oty of Steinbach
- City of Thompson
- City of Winkler
- City of Winnipeg