

#### Contact:

Nick Krawetz, AMM Director of Policy and Communications Telephone: (204) 856-2371

Email: <a href="mailto:nkrawetz@amm.mb.ca">nkrawetz@amm.mb.ca</a>
1910 Saskatchewan Avenue W. Portage la Prairie, MB R1N 0P1

## **NEWS RELEASE**

# CITIES CAUCUS EXPRESSES DESIRE TO WORK WITH NEW PROVINCIAL GOVERNMENT TO TACKLE PRESSING COMMON CHALLENGES

**November 28, 2023** – Leaders from Manitoba's 10 cities gathered today at the AMM's 25<sup>th</sup> Annual Fall Convention where they expressed a joint desire to tackle pressing common challenges with the new provincial government.

"Tackling inflationary and affordability pressures, infrastructure demands, and other challenges such as housing, mental health, and addictions requires a strong partnership between municipalities and provincial government," stated Cities Caucus Chair Mayor Colleen Smook. "The Province's commitment to collaborate with all municipalities through the provision of multi-year, predictable funding support is a great first step."

During the meeting, the Cities Caucus also reaffirmed its support for the AMM's <u>Let's Grow Manitoba Together</u> campaign and working together to advance municipal priorities related to investing in infrastructure, health care, and public safety.

"By working in partnership with the provincial government as well as seizing opportunities to collaborate and consult with our association, we can achieve even greater success and bring about positive change that benefits all Manitobans. Let's Grow Manitoba Together!" added AMM President Kam Blight.

\*\*\*

### Members of the AMM Cities Caucus include:

- City of Brandon
- City of Dauphin
- City of Flin Flon
- City of Morden
- City of Portage la Prairie
- City of Selkirk
- City of Steinbach
- City of Thompson
- · City of Winkler
- City of Winnipeg

### PHOTO:



Cities Caucus delegates meeting with the Hon. Ian Bushie, Minister of Municipal and Northern Relations Click <u>HERE</u> to download photo