

Contact: Nick Krawetz, AMM Director of Policy and Communications Telephone: (204) 856-2371 Email: <u>nkrawetz@amm.mb.ca</u> 1910 Saskatchewan Avenue W. Portage la Prairie, MB R1N 0P1

NEWS RELEASE

THOMPSON MAYOR RE-ELECTED CITIES CAUCUS CHAIR

November 21, 2022 – Delegates from Manitoba's 10 cities met today at the AMM's 24th Annual Fall Convention where they re-elected Mayor Colleen Smook, City of Thompson, as Cities Caucus Chair for a renewed two-year term.

"The AMM is a strong association, and I am honoured to continue this role on behalf of Manitoba's cities," stated Caucus Chair Mayor Smook. "I am committed to assisting with AMM advocacy efforts to benefit all Manitoba municipalities."

During the proceedings, the Cities Caucus also discussed the impacts of unprecedented inflation on municipalities as well as the need for swift action by the provincial government to end the seven-year freeze on municipal operating funding.

"All Manitoba municipalities are feeling the cost of high inflation. Local governments face huge challenges in maintaining current infrastructure—and this is not to mention growing needs. We urge the Province to end the operating funding freeze in its next budget," noted AMM President Kam Blight.

Following the general municipal elections, Manitoba's 10 cities have six new mayors. The AMM looks forward to working with all Councils over the next four years to strengthen municipal Manitoba.

Members of the AMM Cities Caucus include:

- City of Brandon
- City of Dauphin
- City of Flin Flon
- City of Morden
- City of Portage la Prairie
- City of Selkirk
- City of Steinbach
- City of Thompson
- City of Winkler
- City of Winnipeg

PHOTO:



Cities Caucus Chair Mayor Colleen Smook (City of Thompson) Click <u>HERE</u> to download photo