

Contact:

Nick Krawetz, AMM Director of Policy and Communications Telephone: (204) 856-2371

Email: nkrawetz@amm.mb.ca
1910 Saskatchewan Avenue W.
Portage la Prairie, MB R1N 0P1

NEWS RELEASE

AMM TOURS MANITOBA'S PARKLAND REGION

November 5, 2021 – The Association of Manitoba Municipalities (AMM) concluded meetings yesterday with local Councils from Manitoba's Parkland Region. The AMM makes it a priority to meet one-on-one with each of its member municipalities at least once during each four-year election cycle.

"We heard loud and clear that municipalities are uniquely positioned to lead our province's economic recovery," stated AMM President Kam Blight. "However, more provincial supports are needed along with reduced red tape and practical regulations to help communities grow and attract investment."

"The pandemic has clearly highlighted the need for enhanced broadband connectivity and cell service throughout the Parkland. Sustained network infrastructure upgrades are critical for improved public safety, increasing competitiveness of businesses, and maximizing job opportunities," noted Ron Kostyshyn, Reeve of Mossey River Municipality and AMM Parkland District Director.

"Policing and community safety were also key themes during the meetings. Since retroactive pay increases for RCMP members will negatively impact municipal budgets, these costs should be fully absorbed by the federal government as municipalities were not consulted and excluded from negotiations," added Jim Manchur, Councillor from Gilbert Plains Municipality and AMM Parkland District Director.

Meanwhile, several Councils raised concerns regarding excessive costs resulting from provincial waste management regulations. Increasing landfill costs and regulatory requirements are straining many municipal budgets at a time when municipalities are focused on COVID-19 recovery efforts.

The AMM delegation met with the Municipality of Roblin, RM of Mountain, Municipality of Swan Valley West, Town of Swan River, Municipality of Ethelbert, Mossey River Municipality, RM of Lakeshore, and Municipality of Ste. Rose.

Members of the AMM delegation included President Kam Blight, Vice-Presidents Brad Saluk and Chris Ewen, Parkland District Directors Ron Kostyshyn and Jim Manchur and Executive Director Denys Volkov.

The AMM represents all 137 municipalities in Manitoba.

PHOTO:



L-R: Vice-President Brad Saluk, Vice-President Chris Ewen, District Director Jim Manchur, District Director Ron Kostyshyn Click <u>HERE</u> to download photo