

#### Contact:

Nick Krawetz, AMM Director of Policy and Communications Telephone: (204) 856-2371

Email: <a href="mailto:nkrawetz@amm.mb.ca">nkrawetz@amm.mb.ca</a>
1910 Saskatchewan Avenue W.
Portage la Prairie, MB R1N 0P1

# **NEWS RELEASE**

# CITIES CAUCUS MEETS IN DAUPHIN TO CHART POST-PANDEMIC RECOVERY

**September 23, 2021** – Municipal leaders from Manitoba's 10 cities met in Dauphin yesterday to discuss how municipalities can fuel our province's post-pandemic recovery.

"As our province looks to recover from the COVID-19 pandemic, we believe it is important now more than ever for all orders of government to work collaboratively to ensure long-term, predictable, growth-based funding for municipalities that will benefit all Manitobans," stated Cities Caucus Chair and City of Thompson Mayor Colleen Smook.

During the proceedings, delegates discussed the anticipated financial impacts resulting from the nation's first collective agreement for RCMP members which directly affects several Cities Caucus members. "Retroactive pay increases for RCMP members totaling more than 23 per cent will significantly impact municipal budgets. These costs should be fully absorbed by the federal government since municipalities did not have a seat at the negotiating table," noted AMM President Kam Blight.

Addressing the five-year municipal operating funding freeze, tackling local crime and community safety issues, and pursuing economic development opportunities also featured prominently in the discussion. Delegates further shared strategies to increase vaccination rates as well as supported the City of Winnipeg's efforts calling for the ability to use photo noise enforcement technology for nuisance vehicles.

"Municipalities are on the frontlines and continue to deliver essential services that Manitobans rely on. Our province's recovery depends on a strong provincial-municipal partnership, and thus the AMM will continue to urge the provincial government to provide all necessary supports," added President Blight.

The AMM wishes to thank the City of Dauphin for hosting this year's fall Cities Caucus meeting, particularly during this difficult time following the passing of Mayor Allen Dowhan.

## Members of the AMM Cities Caucus include:

- City of Brandon
- City of Dauphin
- City of Flin Flon
- City of Morden
- City of Portage la Prairie
- City of Selkirk
- City of Steinbach
- City of Thompson
- City of Winkler
- City of Winnipeg

-30-

## PHOTO:



Cities Caucus delegates at Dauphin's Countryfest/Ukrainian Festival Amphitheater Click <u>HERE</u> to download photo