

Contact:

Nick Krawetz, AMM Director of Policy and Communications

Telephone: (204) 856-2371 Email: nkrawetz@amm.mb.ca 1910 Saskatchewan Avenue W. Portage la Prairie, MB R1N 0P1

NEWS RELEASE

AMM WELCOMES NEW AND RETURNING BOARD DIRECTORS

June 24, 2021 – Earlier today the AMM concluded its annual District Meetings, which were held virtually throughout the month of June in accordance with provincial public health orders. More than 500 municipal officials and administrators participated in the meetings where they received timely updates on various policy files and elected a new Board of Directors.

The AMM Board of Directors will serve until June 2023 and is comprised of the following individuals:

- Reeve Loren Schinkel (RM of Lac du Bonnet), Eastern District Director
- Councillor Melanie Parent (RM of Piney), Eastern District Director
- Reeve Cheryl Smith (RM of St. Laurent), Interlake District Director
- Councillor Kelly Cook (City of Selkirk), Interlake District Director
- Reeve Morris Olafson (RM of Stanley), Central District Director
- Councillor Nancy Penner (City of Morden), Central District Director
- Councillor Karen MacKinnon (City of Flin Flon), Northern District Director
- Councillor Kathy Valentino (City of Thompson), Northern District Director
- Mayor Stuart Olmstead (Town of Carberry), Western District Director
- Councillor Rhonda Coupland (Municipality of Boissevain-Morton), Western District Director
- Reeve Ron Kostyshyn (Mossey River Municipality), Parkland District Director
- Councillor Jim Manchur (Gilbert Plains Municipality), Parkland District Director
- Mayor Merv Starzyk (RM of Yellowhead), Midwestern District Director
- Councillor Linda Little (Hamiota Municipality), Midwestern District Director
- · Councillor Jeff Browaty (City of Winnipeg), Directly Appointed by City of Winnipeg Council

"I would like to thank all candidates for putting their names forward as well as congratulate our new and returning Board members," stated AMM President Kam Blight. "These individuals are not only dedicated to their local communities but are committed to advocating on behalf of all Manitoba municipalities."

"Delegates also received updates from the Hon. Derek Johnson, Minister of Municipal Relations, on several provincial government initiatives. The AMM appreciates the Minister's time and willingness to answer our members' questions along with departmental staff," added AMM Executive Director Denys Volkov.

The AMM wishes to thank all municipal delegates, presenters and dignitaries for attending the 2021 District Meetings.

The AMM represents all 137 municipalities in Manitoba.