

## Contact:

Nick Krawetz, AMM Director of Policy and Communications Telephone: (204) 856-2371

Email: <a href="mailto:nkrawetz@amm.mb.ca">nkrawetz@amm.mb.ca</a>
1910 Saskatchewan Avenue W. Portage la Prairie, MB R1N 0P1

## **NEWS RELEASE**

## **AMM TOURS EASTERN MANITOBA**

March 5, 2021 - The Association of Manitoba Municipalities (AMM) concluded meetings yesterday with a number of local Councils in the Eastern District. The AMM makes it a priority to meet one-on-one with each of its member municipalities at least once during each four-year election cycle.

"During the discussions, several members raised concerns about the federal government's proposed legislation regarding new firearms measures," stated AMM President Kam Blight. "The AMM will be raising these concerns with the Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM) next week since any new measures should be based on a nationwide approach to improving public safety."

"As the new provincial legislative session started this week, many Councils expressed support for the AMM's call for amendments to Bill 37. It is essential that the scope of appeals be clarified and mechanisms to mitigate frivolous appeals be developed to not delay municipal land-use decisions," noted Stan Toews, Reeve of the RM of Hanover and AMM Eastern District Director.

"Municipalities are also leaders when it comes to waste diversion and recycling. Our members welcomed the provincial review currently underway as it aims to modernize programming frameworks and supports to local communities," added Melanie Parent, Councillor from the RM of Piney and AMM Eastern District Director.

The AMM delegation met with the RM of Alexander, Town of Niverville, RM of East St. Paul, Town of Lac du Bonnet, RM of Piney, Town of Powerview-Pine Falls, RM of Springfield, RM of St. Clements, RM of Stuartburn, RM of Victoria Beach, and RM of Taché.

Members of the AMM delegation included President Kam Blight, Vice-Presidents Brad Saluk and Chris Ewen, Eastern District Directors Stan Toews and Melanie Parent, and Executive Director Denys Volkov.

The AMM represents all 137 municipalities in Manitoba.

## PHOTO:



Left column: President Kam Blight, Eastern District Director Melanie Parent, Vice-President Brad Saluk Right column: Executive Director Denys Volkov, Eastern District Director Stan Toews, Vice-President Chris Ewen Click <u>HERE</u> to download photo