

Contact:

Nick Krawetz, AMM Director of Policy and Communications Telephone: (204) 856-2371

Email: nkrawetz@amm.mb.ca
1910 Saskatchewan Avenue W.
Portage la Prairie, MB R1N 0P1

NEWS RELEASE

AMM AND INTERLAKE MUNICIPALITIES CONCLUDE PRODUCTIVE MEETINGS

February 18, 2021 - The Association of Manitoba Municipalities (AMM) concluded meetings today with a number of local Councils in the Interlake District. The AMM makes it a priority to meet one-on-one with each of its member municipalities at least once during each four-year election cycle.

"Our members are anticipating further revenue losses in 2021 due to COVID-19," stated AMM President Kam Blight. "It is vital that municipalities receive all necessary support, including additional emergency operating funding from the provincial and federal governments to offset these losses."

"During our discussions, broadband connectivity was a key theme raised by many members. Municipalities are counting on the provincial broadband strategy to boost connectivity and economic development as they look to recover from COVID-19," noted Cheryl Smith, Reeve of the RM of St. Laurent and AMM Interlake District Director.

"Several Councils also expressed concerns with the lack of approvals for local infrastructure projects under the Investing in Canada Infrastructure Program (ICIP). Funds should be advanced to municipal partners as soon as possible to allow planning and construction to commence without delay," added Kelly Cook, Councillor from the City of Selkirk and AMM Interlake District Director.

The AMM delegation met with the RM of Woodlands, Town of Arborg, RM of Gimli, Town of Stonewall, RM of Grahamdale, Town of Teulon, RM of Rockwood, RM of St. Andrews, RM of West St. Paul and RM of West Interlake.

Members of the AMM delegation included President Kam Blight, Vice-Presidents Brad Saluk and Chris Ewen, Interlake District Directors Cheryl Smith and Kelly Cook, and Executive Director Denys Volkov.

The AMM represents all 137 municipalities in Manitoba.

PHOTO:



Top row: AMM Interlake District Director Kelly Cook, Executive Director Denys Volkov, Vice-President Brad Saluk Bottom row: Interlake District Director Cheryl Smith, President Kam Blight, Vice-President Chris Ewen Click <u>HERE</u> to download photo