

Contact: Nick Krawetz, AMM Director of Policy and Communications Telephone: (204) 856-2371 Email: <u>nkrawetz@amm.mb.ca</u> 1910 Saskatchewan Avenue W. Portage la Prairie, MB R1N 0P1

News Release

AMM KICKS-OFF 2021 MUNICIPAL VISITS

January 14, 2021 - While following provincial public health guidelines, the Association of Manitoba Municipalities (AMM) kicked-off its annual round of municipal visits this week by meeting virtually with several municipalities in the Central District. The AMM makes it a priority to meet one-on-one with each of its member municipalities at least once during each four-year election cycle.

"As we begin a new year, it is vital that the AMM continues to meet one-on-one with its members to discuss their challenges and opportunities," stated AMM President Kam Blight. "Municipal Manitoba has remained on the front lines of the pandemic and we are uniquely positioned to lead our province's economic recovery."

"The provincial government's plan to phase out education property taxes featured prominently in our meetings. Naturally, this will significantly impact our members and we look forward to learning more about this initiative," noted Morris Olafson, Reeve of the RM of Stanley and AMM Central District Director.

"Delays associated with approving municipal projects under the *Investing in Canada Infrastructure Program (ICIP)* also continues to be a major concern. Municipalities are anxious to proceed with growth projects that will benefit Manitoba," added Nancy Penner, Councillor from the City of Morden and AMM Central District Director.

The AMM delegation met with the RM of Portage la Prairie, RM of Dufferin, Municipality of Pembina, Municipality of Louise, Municipality of North Norfolk, and RM of Victoria.

Members of the AMM delegation included President Kam Blight, Vice-Presidents Brad Saluk and Chris Ewen, Central District Directors Morris Olafson and Nancy Penner, and Executive Director Denys Volkov.

The AMM represents all 137 municipalities in Manitoba.

-30-

The Association of Manitoba Municipalities identifies and addresses the needs and concerns of its members in order to achieve strong and effective municipal government.

PHOTO:



Left column: Central District Director Nancy Penner, Vice-President Brad Saluk, President Kam Blight Right column: Executive Director Denys Volkov, Vice-President Chris Ewen, Central District Director Morris Olafson Click <u>HERE</u> to download photo