

Contact:

Nick Krawetz, AMM Director of Policy and Communications Telephone: (204) 856-2371

Email: nkrawetz@amm.mb.ca
1910 Saskatchewan Avenue W.
Portage la Prairie, MB R1N 0P1

NEWS RELEASE

THOMPSON MAYOR ELECTED CITIES CAUCUS CHAIR

September 25, 2020 – Municipal officials from Manitoba's 10 cities met in Steinbach yesterday where they elected Mayor Colleen Smook, City of Thompson, as the new Cities Caucus Chair.

"I am very grateful and humbled to take on this new role on behalf of Manitoba's cities," stated newly-elected Caucus Chair Mayor Smook. "Manitoba municipalities share many similar challenges, and therefore I am looking forward to assisting the AMM with its advocacy efforts to benefit all members of our strong association."

During the proceedings, the Cities Caucus discussed COVID-19 impacts and the importance of amending Bill 48 so that this proposed legislation can benefit all Manitobans and foster a quicker economy recovery. The status of municipal *Investing in Canada Infrastructure Program* (ICIP) applications and future of provincial government jobs across Manitoba also featured prominently in the discussion.

Additionally, the Hon. Rochelle Squires, Minister of Municipal Relations, attended the meeting where she announced a one-time \$5 million Fire Protection Grant to benefit municipalities and local fire departments. Details regarding this new grant will be communicated to all municipalities shortly. Minister Squires also provided updates on several priority files, including ICIP and the federal-provincial Safe Restart Agreement.

"The Safe Restart Agreement includes critical support for local governments. All orders of government need to continue working together to ensure this support reaches municipalities quickly given the tremendous financial pressures facing local communities," noted AMM President Ralph Groening.

The AMM wishes to thank outgoing Chair Mayor Larry Johansson, City of Selkirk, for his service and continued dedication to strengthening municipalities across Manitoba. Mayor Smook's two-year term as Chair will commence in November 2020.

Members of the AMM Cities Caucus include:

- City of Brandon
- City of Dauphin
- City of Flin Flon
- City of Morden
- City of Portage la Prairie
- City of Selkirk
- City of Steinbach
- City of Thompson
- City of Winkler
- City of Winnipeg

-30-

PHOTO:



Newly-elected Cities Caucus Chair Mayor Colleen Smook (City of Thompson) with Mayor Larry Johannson (City of Selkirk) Click <u>HERE</u> to download photo