

Contact:

Nick Krawetz, AMM Director of Policy and Communications Telephone: (204) 856-2371

Email: nkrawetz@amm.mb.ca
1910 Saskatchewan Avenue W.
Portage la Prairie, MB R1N 0P1

NEWS RELEASE

AMM MEETS VIRTUALLY WITH PARKLAND DISTRICT MUNICIPALITIES

September 4, 2020 - The AMM met virtually this week with local Councils from a number of municipalities in the Parkland District. The AMM makes it a priority to visit each of its member municipalities at least once during each four-year election cycle.

"A strong Manitoba depends on strong municipalities, and thus meeting with local Councils one-on-one allows the AMM to learn about their challenges and opportunities. This information is then incorporated into our advocacy efforts to help ensure all municipalities continue to grow as our economy reopens," stated AMM President Ralph Groening.

"Impacts related to COVID-19 and recent healthcare service disruptions in the region featured prominently in our discussions. This pandemic has certainly underscored the importance of maintaining services in local communities and building capacity closer to home, ensuring health resources in every community," noted Ron Kostyshyn, Reeve of Mossey River Municipality and AMM Parkland District Director.

"Since many communities experience poor cell coverage and spotty broadband Internet, several Councils highlighted the need for an accelerated provincial broadband strategy. Connecting communities is vital for pursuing economic growth and investment opportunities, especially as more Manitobans are working from home and local businesses are relying more on e-commerce during this pandemic," added Jim Manchur, Councillor from Gilbert Plains Municipality and AMM Parkland District Director.

The AMM delegation met with RM of Alonsa, Municipality of Minitonas-Bowsman, Town of Swan River, Grandview Municipality, Gilbert Plains Municipality, RM of Dauphin, and City of Dauphin.

Members of the AMM delegation included President Ralph Groening, Vice-Presidents Kam Blight and Brad Saluk, Parkland District Directors Ron Kostyshyn and Jim Manchur, and Executive Director Denys Volkov.

The AMM represents all 137 municipalities in Manitoba.