

## Contact:

Nick Krawetz, AMM Director of Policy and Communications Telephone: (204) 856-2371

Email: <a href="mailto:nkrawetz@amm.mb.ca">nkrawetz@amm.mb.ca</a>
1910 Saskatchewan Avenue W. Portage la Prairie, MB R1N 0P1

## **NEWS RELEASE**

## **AMM COMPLETES 2020 INTERLAKE VISITS**

**August 7, 2020** - The AMM toured the Interlake District of the province this week and met with local Councils from a number of municipalities. The AMM makes it a priority to visit each of its member municipalities at least once during each four-year election cycle.

"Meeting with local Councils one-on-one is very important, perhaps now more than ever given COVID-19," stated AMM President Ralph Groening. "While all of our members are dealing with increased pressures due to this new reality, municipal officials continue to be on the front lines of this pandemic delivering essential services and protecting local communities."

"During our meetings, we certainly gained greater insights into the challenges and opportunities facing the Interlake District. Our members clearly want to lead Manitoba's economic recovery, and thus many Councils expressed their desire to move infrastructure projects forward in partnership with the provincial and federal governments," noted Cheryl Smith, Reeve of the RM of St. Laurent and AMM Interlake District Director.

"Protecting local autonomy and reducing red tape was also a key theme discussed at all meetings. In particular, several Councils supported the AMM's position related to Bill 48: *The Planning Amendment and City of Winnipeg Charter Amendment Act*, which will have significant impacts on all municipalities given its current wording," added Kelly Cook, Councillor from the City of Selkirk and AMM Interlake District Director.

The AMM delegation visited the RM of St. François Xavier, RM of St. Laurent, RM of Coldwell, RM of Fisher, RM of Armstrong, Town of Winnipeg Beach, and City of Selkirk.

...2

Members of the AMM delegation included President Ralph Groening, Vice-Presidents Kam Blight and Brad Saluk, Interlake District Directors Cheryl Smith and Kelly Cook, and Executive Director Denys Volkov.

The AMM represents all 137 municipalities in Manitoba.

-30-

## PHOTO:



AMM delegation in RM of St. Laurent
Pictured L-R: AMM Interlake District Director Cheryl Smith, AMM Vice-President Kam Blight,
AMM President Ralph Groening, AMM Interlake District Director Kelly Cook
(not pictured: AMM Vice-President Brad Saluk – participated virtually)

Click **HERE** to download photo