

Contact: Nick Krawetz, AMM Director of Policy and Communications Telephone: (204) 856-2371 Email: <u>nkrawetz@amm.mb.ca</u> 1910 Saskatchewan Avenue W. Portage la Prairie, MB R1N 0P1

News Release

AMM WRAPS UP 2020 MIDWESTERN DISTRICT VISITS

March 2, 2020 - The AMM toured the Midwestern District of the province last week and met with local Councils from a number of municipalities. The AMM makes it a priority to visit each of its member municipalities at least once during each four-year election cycle.

"Meeting one-on-one with local Councils as well as discussing the challenges and opportunities they are facing is invaluable, as it allows AMM to more effectively advocate on behalf of all municipalities," stated AMM President Ralph Groening.

"Improving cellular network coverage was a common theme during our discussions. Sustained infrastructure upgrades are essential for improving public safety, increasing competitiveness of businesses, and maximizing job opportunities in local communities," noted Merv Starzyk, Mayor of the RM of Yellowhead and AMM Midwestern District Director.

"These visits reinforced my appreciation for the great work local Councils are doing on behalf of their communities. We are all partners in growing Manitoba and learning about local priorities and challenges on the ground is the first step to keep the growing going," added Murray Parrott, Councillor from the Town of Neepawa and AMM Midwestern District Director.

The AMM delegation visited Prairie View Municipality, Municipality of Russell-Binscarth, RM of Ellice-Archie, Hamiota Municipality, RM of Oakview, RM of Minto-Odanah and RM of Rosedale.

Members of the AMM delegation included President Ralph Groening, Vice-Presidents Kam Blight and Brad Saluk, Midwestern District Directors Merv Starzyk and Murray Parrott, and Executive Director Denys Volkov.

The AMM represents all 137 municipalities in Manitoba.

-30-



AMM delegation in the RM of Rosedale (Pictured L-R: AMM Vice-President Kam Blight, AMM Midwestern District Director Murray Parrott, AMM President Ralph Groening, AMM Midwestern District Director Merv Starzyk, AMM Vice-President Brad Saluk)

Click <u>HERE</u> to download photo