

Contact:

Denys Volkov, AMM Director of Advocacy and Communications

Telephone: (204) 856-2362 Email: dvolkov@amm.mb.ca 1910 Saskatchewan Avenue W. Portage la Prairie, MB R1N 0P1

NEWS RELEASE

CITIES CAUCUS ELECTS NEW CHAIR

November 27, 2018 - The leaders of Manitoba's cities met in Winnipeg yesterday at the AMM 20th Annual Convention where they elected a new Chair in Mayor Larry Johannson, City of Selkirk.

"I am very thankful and excited to take on this new role on behalf of Manitoba's cities," stated newlyelected Caucus Chair Mayor Larry Johannson. "The Cities Caucus faces many similar challenges, and I look forward to discussing with my colleagues how we can further advocate together to benefit all municipalities in Manitoba."

The Cities Caucus underscored the importance of cost-shared infrastructure investments in local communities, namely through the essential Municipal Road and Bridge Program which is slated to be terminated. Cities Caucus delegates also discussed the implications of cannabis legalization as well as the need for cannabis taxation revenue-sharing with the provincial and federal governments.

"Municipalities must work together with each other and with orders of government. However, partnerships require necessary resources to ensure municipalities are strong, safe and well-served," noted Chris Goertzen, AMM President.

Members of the AMM Cities Caucus include:

- City of Brandon
- City of Dauphin
- City of Flin Flon
- City of Morden
- City of Portage la Prairie
- City of Selkirk
- City of Steinbach
- City of Thompson
- City of Winkler
- City of Winnipeg

PHOTO:



New AMM Cities Caucus Chair - Mayor Larry Johannson, City of Selkirk