2020 Executive Committee Elections

Photo: AMM

2020 Executive Committee Elections

At this year’s Convention there will be elections for the AMM’s Executive Committee, consisting of the President and two Vice-Presidents. The term of office for President and Vice-Presidents is 2 years. The President and Vice-Presidents can hold office for multiple terms.

Executive Committee nominations:

Municipalities can nominate a municipal official for the President position, a Vice-President position, or both, but the candidate may only accept nomination for one position. Nominations for positions on the Executive Committee must be by resolution of a Council in Manitoba. Only elected municipal officials of member municipalities are eligible to be President or Vice-President. Nominations of candidates for a position on the Executive Committee must be made by giving written notice no later than 21 days prior to the opening day of the Convention, together with a copy of the supporting Council resolution, to the Executive Director of the Association, to be received by no later than November 2, 2020, at:

Attention: Denys Volkov, Executive Director
Association of Manitoba Municipalities
1910 Saskatchewan Avenue W.
Portage la Prairie, MB R1N 0P1
Or via email at dvolkov@amm.mb.ca

Executive Committee election:

  • President: The President must receive 50% plus 1 of the total number of votes cast to be elected as President.
  • Vice-Presidents: The 2 candidates for Vice-President who receive the highest number of votes are elected as Vice-Presidents. There will be a further ballot if there is a tie, involving only the tied candidates.

Candidates for AMM President

Candidate information/campaign materials will be posted as they are received by the AMM office.

Kam Blight

Reeve, RM of Portage la Prairie

Candidates for AMM Vice-President

Candidate information/campaign materials will be posted as they are received by the AMM office.

Martin Harder

Mayor, City of Winkler

Murray Parrott

Councillor, Town of Neepawa

Kerri Riehl

Councillor/Deputy Mayor, City of Dauphin

Brad Saluk

Reeve, RM of Brokenhead

Kathy Valentino

Councillor, City of Thompson

Voting Procedures

The elections will be facilitated by Data On The Spot (DOTS), who will provide all voting registrants with an unique link to the secure voting page. Additional details regarding voting procedures will be communicated in a separate Member Advisory to all eligible voters.

Key Dates

  • November 16, 2020: Advanced Voting commences
  • November 23, 2020: Final Candidate Speeches/Voting on Convention Day